Skip to content

Got Writer’s Block? Just Start Writing!

December 23, 2009

There it is. Sitting right in front of you. Staring you in the face. A blank computer screen; the cursor blinking at you like an annoyingly festive Christmas tree light. If only you could organize your thoughts. If only you could think of that first line that would immediately hook your reader. If only…

Writer’s block is irritating. Writer’s block is frustrating. And, writer’s block one of the most common ailments you face as a writer – often when you need to crank something out in the next 20 minutes.

Just Start Writing!
That’s my advice to you. I know, you say, “How can I do that when that’s my problem to begin with? I can’t start writing. I have writer’s block!”

Here’s how: Start in the middle. Start at the end. Start at the third paragraph from the bottom. Start anywhere other than the beginning.

Too Much Pressure
We often put too much pressure on ourselves to start at the beginning. To craft that perfect title, subtitle and first sentence – all in that nice, neat order. But it’s not necessary. In fact, sometimes your article will be even better when you start somewhere in the middle.

Why?

Because while you may have grand plans for the exact direction your article will take, often it changes course as you write it.

Focus on the Facts; Forget the Cleverness…for Now
By starting in the middle, you can get right to the crux of the matter. You write about what you already know: the facts you’ve gathered, the interviews you’ve held, the research you’ve compiled.

Once you get those down on paper (or on screen, as the case may be), creating an interesting, creative lead is much easier. It may even write itself.

So the next time you’re stuck, just start writing! It doesn’t matter which part of your story, once you start writing something, the rest will flow much easier and writer’s block won’t get in the way.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to TwitterAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 11:02 am

    Hello Laura,

    I can certainly relate to everything you mention in your post. It seems like I suffer from writer’s block every week as that is how often I write for my blog:-) I agree that sometimes it’s best to just start somewhere and write. You’d be surprised how well your thoughts begin flowing and usually you’ll come up with something better that you originally planned. At other times, I just need to walk away from it for a short time and do something else. When I return, I usually have a whole new outlook on the task at hand.

  2. December 24, 2009 7:01 pm

    every single day that i have try to write something on my blog i always make a pause at the mid part of my article because of that writer block, one thing i know how to cope up with this is to sleep it out, and try to redo it again with enough rest and a clear mind.

  3. December 25, 2009 9:41 am

    Robert & badsid24 those are great ideas! Thanks so much for sharing. Happy holidays!

  4. Thaumauturgist permalink
    September 8, 2010 3:29 pm

    You should try write or die during “those days”. It helps.

    http://writeordie.drwicked.com/

    http://writealogue.wordpress.com/2010/09/08/write-or-die/

  5. January 10, 2011 4:24 pm

    Hello!

    I stumbled upon your blog and I believe I can help!

    Writer’s block is when our conscious mind – that critical and analytical part of our brain – gets in the way of our subconscious mind – the creative and free-flowing part of our brain that speaks in images and symbols.

    I have step-by-step instruction on how to unlock the subconscious on my blog and eliminate writer’s block. I hope it helps for anyone who runs into writer’s block.

    Happy writing, everyone!!

    That’s my two pence…
    Arial 😉

Trackbacks

  1. The capital of Kansas is Topanga… | Left Of Sean
  2. Writer’s Block Is Not Terminal

Leave a comment