Skip to content

Online Thoughts Crash Into Reality

February 11, 2010

at signAt least it did for my reality.

SOBCon 2010

The theme for this year’s SOBCon, held in Chicago April 30 to May 2, is: Where Virtual Meets Concrete, and the cofounders are encouraging us to talk about:

…how our relationships online help our lives and businesses online and off…[by writing] a blog post about a person (or people) online who has (or have) made a difference in your life. Celebrate how they have made your life easier, better, smarter, more productive, more meaningful.

There are five people online who have directly influenced (completely without their knowledge) how I’m tackling challenges and changing my life offline.

Speak boldly. (#1)

I’ve been struggling with the best “voice” for this blog for some time now. And thanks to the Copyblogger website, founded by Brian Clark, and an article by Pace Smith, I’m making a change in my own life. (I’m counting this as one – not two. It’s fine, really.)

The only way to write powerfully is to be bold, and to write boldly you must stop qualifying yourself and being overly respectful.

Hmmm…pretty sure I’ve been qualifying too much. I’m always worried about how the words on this page could be misconstrued. And that’s just silly. How can you possibly be motivated by any ideas I share if I can’t even declare them with conviction? You can’t.

Change in Voice

So from now on, I’m not going to hold anything back. I’m going to be myself, which means sometimes you’ll agree with me wholeheartedly and other times you’ll want to toss your laptop across the room in complete disagreement. And that’s okay.

Check out these comparisons between the “qualified” way of writing and the “bold” way of writing Pace provides. Love them!

Qualified version: There are many factors that can affect buying decisions. But in my experience, I’ve found that prospect fear is the most important factor that can cause potential customers to choose not to buy.

Bold version: There’s a hideous troll hiding under the bridge. Every time you get close to making a sale, the troll springs out and scares your prospect away. Get rid of the troll and your copy will start converting better than it ever has before.

The ugly, smelly, dirty, bad-mannered troll is prospect fear. And it’s sitting there right now, stinking up your landing page and scaring good customers away.

Big difference, right? Which one would you rather read? Right. Me too.

Stop making excuses. Make a change instead. (#2, 3, 4, 5)

There are four more people online that continue to shape the way I view social media, marketing, writing and achieving my goals. Their blog posts and tweets continue to inspire and nudge me toward positive change. They are: Amber Naslund, Teresa Basich, Rebecca Thorman and Keith Jennings.

I’ve gained great insight into the world of social media from Amber’s blog posts. Her thoughts often coincide with my own (of course, that may be why I’m so drawn to her thinking), and she frames things in a way that is persuasive, thought-provoking and point-on.

By reading the writings of Teresa and Rebecca, I’ve realized I was born into the wrong decade. 🙂 Instead of letting life dictate the way, these young women understand how to grab life by the horns and move it in the direction they want it to go. We could all learn from their confidence and tenacity.

As for Keith, I like his honesty, courtesy and bold belief in how marketing can and should be used in business today. I thoroughly enjoy reading his take on this topic as often as possible.

Rethinking Me

What’s really weird (or a coincidence? or a twist of fate? or God’s way of nudging me in the right direction?), is how their ideas – along with my own – converged recently. This convergence started a chain of events, causing me to rethink how I’d been approaching my own endeavors. I realized that if I wanted things to be different, I’d need to make my own change. Which is exactly what I’m doing.

I’ve made some small changes in my life – like using a different voice with this blog, for example – and there are more coming (I hope). I can’t wait to see where this new approach and desire to make a difference in my own life takes me.

Which online personalities have made a difference in your life? How will you take things you’ve learned online and ensure they crash into your own reality? I’d love to hear it.

Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 10:57 am

    Yay, Laura! I’m happy to hear that my post spoke to you. (:

    • February 11, 2010 7:03 pm

      Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post. I loved your post! It’s so true, and it’s so easy to qualify all the time. I’m going to try to knock it off. Thanks, again! =)

  2. February 12, 2010 2:27 pm

    Hi Laura,

    It’s stuff like this that reminds me I’m doing okay. I’m so glad that whatever I’ve written, good, bad, or just totally out there, has struck a cord in you. At the end of the day, that’s why we’re out here, right? That’s why we self-publish and speak openly in these spaces — because we hope to strike cords in people. Those common bonds of inspiration remind us we’re not alone.

    I’m always a little off-put by compliments, so I’ll just say…thank you for the incredibly kind words. 🙂

    • February 13, 2010 2:01 pm

      You’re so sweet Teresa! Thanks for taking the time to comment. Just know that your words definitely make a difference. So keep on doing what you’re doing!

  3. February 13, 2010 10:21 am

    The best part of what we do here is how we connect. I’ve learned so much from the folks you mention. Thank you for raising them up like this.

    What you wrote here is wisdom of the very best kind … from the head and the heart with real purpose.

    • February 13, 2010 2:03 pm

      Liz, I absolutely agree about connecting. That’s one of the things that’s so great about online communities. It give us a way to connect and interact with people we would normally otherwise never “meet.” Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write them. =)

Trackbacks

  1. Only Hours Left!! Look Who’s Entered to Win a FREE SOBCon Trip — OR Get a $250 Discount | Liz Strauss at Successful Blog

Leave a Reply

