Skip to content

Capture Their Attention: Off-Center

February 17, 2010

Nissan cube®

As I was crawling in Chicagoland rush-hour (what an oxymoron!) traffic the other night, I found myself wedged between a semi and a Nissan cube®. Have you ever seen a cube? It’s completely bizarre.

As I shook my head and wondered who in the world would want a car that was essentially a box (hence ‘cube’) on wheels, and if aerodynamics were considered in the least, I noticed the back window.

It’s off-center.

Given I wasn’t going anywhere fast, I had plenty of time to ponder this oddity. The window’s molding covers only three sides of the rear window. The fourth side is protected, but not with the normal car-colored molding. How different…and intriguing.

Use ‘Different’ to Your Advantage

This got me thinking. Off-center captures attention. It always has. Good or bad, people notice when something or someone is different. That’s human nature.

So why not use that to your advantage? Find new ways of looking at existing problems to lead you to new solutions.

Nothing irks me more than hearing our favorite naysayers spout the ever-infamous, “This is how we’ve always done it.” And that’s your problem. If you’re not looking at problems and challenges and writing assignments with from different perspectives, you’ll never change a thing.

Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again, and expecting the same results.

–Albert Einstein

Are you approaching your writing and marketing and business challenges the same way you always have? Are you finding the innovative solutions that make your clients smile? If not, it’s time to capture their attention, and try something off-center.

I know you can do it. Let me know how it goes.

Image credit: 2010 Nissan cube® wallpaper | Nissan USA Official Site

Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Comment leave one →
  1. Vicky permalink
    February 17, 2010 7:22 pm

    I’ve seen the Cube more frequently over the past month. It’s the ugliest thing out there. However, they marketed it to a specific segment, and guess what… they are driving it. College females seem to gravitate to this monstrosity. I’m thankful my father is no longer around to see this car – I’m afraid he’d want it. He was all about a boxy car. But then again he also had a pair of 30 yr old pinstriped bell bottom pants he refused to wear or throw out. There is no accounting for taste. 🙂

Leave a Reply

